#### KENT COUNTY COUNCIL

### **GOVERNOR APPOINTMENTS PANEL**

MINUTES of a meeting of the Governor Appointments Panel held in the Wantsum Room, Sessions House, County Hall, Maidstone on Friday, 9 October 2009.

PRESENT: Mr D L Brazier (Chairman), Miss S J Carey, Mr R J Parry and Mr R Tolputt

OFFICERS: Ms T Gimber (School Governance Officer), Mr N Morgan (School Governance Officer) and Mr A Tait (Democratic Services Officer)

### **UNRESTRICTED ITEMS**

# **12. Minutes - 3 July 2009** (*Item A3*)

RESOLVED that the Minutes of the meeting held on 3 July 2009 are correctly recorded and that they be signed by the Chairman.

## 13. LEA Governors for Primary, Secondary and Special Schools in Kent (Item B1)

- (1) The Panel decided to appoint Mr J Wiggel to the Governing Body of Temple Ewell Primary School instead of Mrs J Olpin as it considered that the School's needs would be best served through the appointment of an LEA Governor who was seen to be best placed to consider them afresh.
- (2) The Panel decided to appoint Mr R Parry to the Governing Body of The Bradbourne School instead of Mrs M Canet as he was the local County Councillor. As such, his nomination received precedence as set in Guideline (j) of the Guidelines for the appointment of LEA Governors.
- (3) The Panel agreed to the appointment of Mrs P Garrard to the Governing Body of St Nicholas CEP School as, although this appointment did not strictly conform to Guideline c (i), she had never actually been a teacher at Harvey Grammar School.
- (4) The Panel appointed Mr W Gardner and Mrs J Coulon to the future Federation of Bodsham and Saltwood CEP Schools in anticipation that it would be set up in November 2009.
- (5) The Panel approved the urgent action taken by the Head of School Governance in consultation with the Chairman to appoint Mr J Farmer to the temporary Governing Body of the new Ellington and Hereson School until the end of the Spring Term in April 2010.
- (6) RESOLVED that the appointments of Local Authority Governors in Primary, Secondary, Special Schools and Pupil Referral Units be agreed as set out in the Appendix to these Minutes.